Emotional baggages and passion

I am at fault for a brief break from writing the journal. I have been busy packing, I am done with one box and I am in a pickle, wherein my last leg of journey from New York to Raleigh, NC carries a ticket that lets me take only 2 pieces and the third will set me back by at least a couple of hundred dollars which is a significant amount. But, since the original ticket has 3 pieces the last piece shouldn’t be an issue — but that is something I need to confirm. I really feel these posts are more or less rants and I would love to streamline thoughts to 2-3 differing topics from time to time to : 1) Bring something of value into these posts and 2) Have something to read before I post stuff, otherwise it looks like immature and absolutely devoid of any purpose.

In earlier posts I have spoken of the different feelings I go through emotionally in different circumstances. Emotional baggage is something that every person carries. The intensity and the reasons are, of course, vastly differing from one individual to another. I respect people who respect other people’s emotional baggage. There are a few people who conveniently ignore the fact that everyone carries traumatic experiences in their heads and they can pop up at unexpected times due to unexpected reasons, causing severe backlashes and bitter memories.

It is a common misbelief emotional baggages are embarked upon shoulders only due to parting of loved ones, shattering of dreams, etc. But my belief is every instance can spark positive and negative memories that add up to good and bad emotions being triggered in the head. People must respect this fact and start appreciating the fact we as humans have an ability to rollercoaster between exhilarating and depressing moments in life, in equal measures. The Almighty never delays memories that are meant to be, and we as his subjects need to relish everything on offer. That said, I am no theist who professes an existence of God. I am a pantheist, who bows down to the powers of Nature. I have a friend who is now studying religion from multiple sources, leaving behind a career in economics, logistics and offshore supply chain management. When I was interacting with him over coffee, I could really see passion in his eyes. He believes the World runs on the doctrines of the different religions and the purpose of religion is yet to be uncovered and as the World comes closer, smaller thanks to extensive globalization, less diverse thanks to evangelism, religion as an entity will serve a greater purpose. He wishes he could be an apologist of Hinduism one day.

I am a Hindu by birth and I love the religion but its rituals are outdated and often misconstrued. But, but, but.. I digress. Like I had emphasized in the previous paragraph, I wanted to talk about passion.

I totally love people who are passionate about some thing. I, for one, am passionate about tennis, football, cricket and FIFA. Although I can talk about anything for hours, if it came to these things, I can engage in an interesting conversation for days together. That passion to do something, that passion to learn about something, that passion to pursue something is infectious and is a trait found in very few people. Some people sheepishly grin to convey in the negative when I question them as to what their passion is. That is very sad. Our life is short and we really need to acquire and develop a certain passion. It could be very trivial, but the passion will naturally show through and it wouldn’t be tough seeing it in their speech and their eyes.

This was

This was a cake my friend baked for my brother’s birthday

India is a country where women are still struggling to find their version of “We Can Do It” and the Rosie the Riveters.. Freedom of views and opinions has not permeated into every household and the remnants of the battle in the US has slowly started to show in the Indian families and women of all age groups are now breaking free of the handcuffs that they have been in for centuries in this aggressive patriarchal society. In such a situation, finding girls with a true passion is a rarity and when I do, I am truly impressed and my curiosity spikes. I have a friend who is absolutely passionate about code, one who is passionate about baking, one who is passionate about dancing. Despite these being commonplace, it is wonderful having these people around you because their passion is contagious. It leads you to lead a productive life, it helps you develop a passion if you don’t have any.

Sometimes life throws in so many people at us, we reject it like an angry recruiter because they didn’t have good looks or good qualifications on their resume; but hardly do we realize they can do so much for the firm (yourself, in this case) solely due to their personality. They know what they want and they go get it. I am thankful to the Almighty he set up circumstances to help me know a few.

That’s it for this post, it has been long enough. Until the next time.

Leave a Reply

